The International Commission for Uniform Methods of Sugar Analysis Ltd. (ICUMSA) is a world-wide body which brings together the activities of the National Committees for Sugar Analysis in more than twenty member countries.

Work is carried out under various Subjects each headed by a Referee. 

ICUMSA is the only international organisation concerned solely with analytical methods for the sugar industry. In addition to use by that industry, ICUMSA methods are recognised by authorities such as the Codex Alimentarius Commission, the OIML, the EU, and the US Food  Chemicals Codex. 

Methods are recommended for Tentative (T) approval by ICUMSA in the first instance. Upon meeting all the Commission's requirements, methods are accorded Official (O) status. Methods which are demonstrably useful and have found an established application, or which do not lend themselves to collaborative testing, are given an Accepted (A) status. Details of how the status of Methods has been established may be obtained by reading the relevant Proceedings. 




Officers of ICUMSA

YearPlaceSessionPresidentGeneral Secretary
1897Hamburg1stA. Herzfeld, Germany
1898Vienna2ndA. Herzfeld, Germany
1900Paris3rdA. Herzfeld, Germany
1903Berlin4thA. Herzfeld, GermanyF.G. Wiechmann, USA
1906Berne5thA. Herzfeld, GermanyF.G. Wiechmann, USA
1909London6thA. Herzfeld, GermanyF.G. Wiechmann, USA
1912New York7thA. Herzfeld, GermanyF.G. Wiechmann, USA
1932Amsterdam8thF. Bates, USAL. Eynon, UK
1936London9thF. Bates, USAL. Eynon, UK
1949Brussels10thF. Bates, USAF. Tödt, Germany
1954Paris11thF. Bates, USA (to 1953)G. Payne, UK
H.C.S. de Whalley, UK (from 1954)D. Gross, UK
1958Washington12thH.C.S. de Whalley, UKD. Gross, UK
1962Hamburg13thH.C.S. de Whalley, UKD. Gross, UK
1966Copenhagen14thJ. Dubourg, FranceR. Saunier, France
1970London15thJ. Dubourg, France (to 1969)R. Saunier, France
A. Carruthers, UK (from 1970)
1974Ankara16thA. Carruthers, UKD. Hibbert, UK
1978Montreal17thA. Carruthers, UKD. Hibbert, UK
1982Dublin18thE. Reinefeld, GermanyA. Emmerich, Germany
1986Cannes19thE. Reinefeld, GermanyA. Emmerich, Germany
1990Colorado Springs20thM.R. Player, AusttraliaE. Whaymann, Australia
1994Havana21stM.R. Player, AustraliaR.J. McCowage, Australia
1998Berlin22ndM.R. Player, AustraliaR.J. McCowage, Australia
2002Pune23rdG. Vaccari, ItalyG. Mantovani, Italy
2004Atlanta24thG. Vaccari, ItalyH. Puke, Germany
2006Aguas de São Pedro25thG. Vaccari, ItalyH. Puke, Germany
2008Delray Beach26thG. Parkin, UKH. Puke, Germany
2010Berlin27thG. Parkin, UKH. Puke, Germany
2012Cambridge28thG. Parkin, GermanyH. Puke, Germany
2014Ribeirão Preto29thG.Parkin, UKH. Puke, Germany
2016Warsaw30thG.Parkin, UKH. Puke, Germany